This is a Great Article

23 May

About society’s warped perception of rape and sexual assault:

http://www.dailylife.com.au/news-and-views/dl-opinion/your-vagina-is-not-a-car-20121022-28102.html

I don’t know why, but every time I read something of this nature I just feel so disappointed that in our advanced society we still have these issues. This is something I am thinking about using my career to address; I’ve always wanted to be a doctor, but I’ve had this side idea to open my own nonprofit pregnancy center/counseling center to deal with this sort of thing. I really just want to get across to people the double standard that we teach women to avoid shady places, walk with a buddy, etc. and don’t teach men that rape is not okay, ever.

I was watching a PBS documentary the other day with my mom about sexual assault in the military. It was horrifying. They have a HUGE problem, because they don’t want to acknowledge that they have a problem. The United States military actually created and distributed ads that said something like, “Wait until she’s sober, don’t risk it.”

Don’t risk it?!

Never mind the woman who’s physical and mental well-being is in jeopardy, dude, just make sure you save your own skin. Don’t want anyone saying you raped her. I hate how it makes violating someone in the grossest way possible seem like such an arbitrary decision. Like choosing if you should go to the grocery store when it’s raining. Oh, better not risk it, my hair could get wet. I’m going to go to the grocery store anyway, so I should wait until it stops raining.

Suffice it to say that both my mom and I were absolutely nauseated.

Leave a comment