So the Title of This Blog is Under Construction

16 May

Right now it’s The Usual Subtexts just because I felt like the title should be something clever and meaningful. It doesn’t really mean anything though; it’s a play off the movie “The Usual Suspects.” The font in this theme kind of looks like the font on the movie poster so I guess that’s a plus.

You know when you’re typing on your laptop, and you accidentally touch the trackpad and suddenly you’re typing in the middle of a paragraph you already typed? Yeah just happened to me.

So I was inspired to create this blog because it is now summer (according to our school calendar, not the actual seasonal shifts). That means that I am no longer in college and I have nothing to do with my life until June 3rd when I start my internship at the hospital. It’s a really bizarre feeling when your life is completely consumed by academics, and then, poof, nothing. I keep thinking there should be more of a gradual transition into the great hole of boredom and listlessness of summer, instead of the free-fall off a cliff I just experienced. This morning I woke up to my phone ringing, and instantly sprung out of my bed, panicking, trying to remember what I had missed or where I was supposed to be or what I was supposed to be doing. But it was only my mom wanting to know if she should buy cheese at the grocery store or if we had enough in the refrigerator. I think in Japan they do some kind of year-round schooling thing where there isn’t this random 3-month period of forgetting everything you just learned. But then again, I’m not sure if there’s anything like that in college.Maybe it wouldn’t be so bad if our entire grade wasn’t dependent on one test at the very end of the semester. I personally don’t think it’s fair if I get a bad grade in a class based on one test, and I’ve worked hard and had a good grade up until then. But I’m not here to critique the American education system. Most of my professors were fair with their final exams, and I ended up with a 4.0 for the entire year. That was hard. Don’t know if I can do that again.

My vision for this blog is a mash-up of a daily journal and somewhere for me to vent my opinions. I’m not really looking for followers but feel free to follow me or whatever if you think I’m interesting. As you can already see, I skip around on topics a lot. I’ll probably go weeks without a post, then explode like five in one day. That’s just how I am.

Maybe I’ll blog the little bedroom renovation I’m planning. We’ll see.

 

Leave a Reply

